Marianna Ivanova
home icon contact us icon site map icon russian flag icon
  My world  
  My interests  

Minister of health in South Africa Dr. Aaron Motsoaledi


Dr Aaron Motsoaledi was appointed the Minister of Health for the Republic of South Africa on 11 May 2009.

He is a Medical Practitioner by profession (MBCHB,1983).

He is currently a serving member of the African National Congress (ANC) National Executive Committee (NEC) since December 2007. Served in the NEC's Health and Education Sub-Committeee since then.

After the unbanning of the ANC, elected into the Executive Committee of the ANC in Limpopo Province of South Africa for the past 19 years.

Student activist since 1979, elected into the National Executive of Student Organisation (AZASO) in 1981. Student Representative Council (SRC) President of the University of Natal in 1982.

A leader in the United Democratic Front (UDF) in 1983. A very active member in the activities of the then banned African National Congress (ANC) since 1981.

Dr Motsoaledi has served in various portfolios as a Member of the Executive in the Province of Limpopo, South Africa. He was in the first Executive of the Province to address the transformation agenda of the democratic government in 1994. This included the amalgamation of five (5) apartheid created administration into one Provincial Administration. In addition he was instrumental in developing provincial policy and strategies to address poverty, unemployment, access to services amongst others.

He has previously served in the following Portfolios within the Province of Limpopo:

  • Provincial Minister of Education
  • Provincial Minister of Agriculture
  • Provincial Minister of Transport
  • Provincial Minister of Education again

Dr Motsoaledi worked in Public Hospitals and later worked as a Private Medical Practitioner in Limpopo Province serving remote and underserved rural areas.

To view full profile click here>>

Dr. Aaron Motsoaledi minister of health in South Africa

Barbara Anne Hogan - minister of health in South Africa from 25 September 2008 10 May 2009

Manto Tshabalala-Msimang

Manto Tshabalala-Msimang - minister of health in South Africa from 25 September 2008 to 10 May 2009

Dr. Mantombazana 'Manto' Edmie Tshabalala-Msimang (nee Mali ) (9 October 194016 December 2009)] was a South African politician. She was Deputy Minister of Justice from 1996 to 1999 and controversially served as Minister of Health from 1999 to 2008 under President Thabo Mbeki . She also served as Minister in the Presidency under President Kgalema Motlanthe from September 2008 to May 2009. Her emphasis on treating South Africa's AIDS epidemic with vegetables such as garlic and beetroot , rather than with antiretroviral medicines , was the subject of international criticism.

Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma - minister of health in South Africa from 1994 - 1999

Nkosazana Clarice Dlamini-Zuma (born 27 January 1949) is a South African politician and was an anti- apartheid activist . She was South Africa's Minister of Health from 1994 to 1999, under President Nelson Mandela , then Minister of Foreign Affairs from 17 June 1999 to 10 May 2009, under Presidents Thabo Mbeki and Kgalema Molanthe . She was moved to the position of Minister of Home Affairs in the Cabinet of President Jacob Zuma , her ex-husband, on 10 May 2009.


After the end of apartheid in 1994, the "independent" and "semi-independent" Bantustans were integrated into the political structure of South Africa by the abolition of the four former provinces (Cape Province, Natal Province, Orange Free State and Transvaal Province) and the creation of nine fully integrated new provinces. The generally smaller size of the new provinces theoretically means that local governments have more resources to distribute over smaller areas. The provinces are subdivided into 52 districts: 6 metropolitan and 46 district municipalities. The district municipalities are further subdivided into 231 local municipalities. The metropolitan municipalities perform the functions of both district and local municipalities. The new provinces are:

Area (km?)
Population (2007)
Eastern Cape Bhisho 169,580 6,527,747
Free State Bloemfontein 129,480 2,773,059
Gauteng Johannesburg 17,010 10,451,713
KwaZulu-Natal Pietermaritzburg 92,100 10,259,230
Limpopo Polokwane 123,900 5,238,286
Mpumalanga Nelspruit 79,490 3,643,435
Northern Cape Kimberley 361,830 1,058,060
North West Mafikeng 116,320 3,271,948
Western Cape Cape Town 129,370 5,278,585
Total 1,219,080 48,502,063



Last update: 08 June 2010
Copyright Marianna 2006 - 2013 When copying materials from website active hyperlink is required