Marianna Ivanova
home icon contact us icon site map icon russian flag icon
  My world  
  My interests  

Minister of health in Samoa Mrs Gatoloai Fa'ana Amataga Alesana Gidlow

Gatoloaifaana Amataga Alesana-Gidlow is a matai and the current Minister of Health in Samoa. She was appointed to her ministerial portfolio by Prime Minister Tuilaepa Aiono Sailele Malielegaoi following the March 2006 General elections where she was elected for the first time. Her electoral constituency is Fa'asaleleaga No. 1, part of the larger Fa'asaleleaga political district at the east end of Savai'i island.

She is the daughter of former Prime Minister Tofilau Eti Alesana who also held the portfolio of Minister of Health under the Premiership of Fiame Mata'afa Faumuina Mulinuu II, the first Prime Minister of Samoa.

She is married to Rodger Gidlow and they own and run the Savaiian Hotel in Lalomalava on the north coast of Savai'i. She has also been a Director on the Board of the Samoa Tourism Authority.


Palanitina Tupuimatagi Toelupe - chief executive officer ministry of health Samoa

Palanitina Tupuimatagi Toelupe - chief executive officer ministry of health Samoa

map of Samoa regions

Samoa is made up of eleven itumalo (political districts). These are the traditional eleven districts that were established well before European arrival. Each district has its own constitutional foundation (faavae) based on the traditional order of title precedence found in each district's faalupega (traditional salutations). The capital village of each district administers and coordinates the affairs of the district and confers each districts' paramount title, amongst other responsibilities. For example, the District of A'ana has its capital at Leulumoega. The paramount title of A'ana is the TuiA'ana. The orator group which confers this title - the Faleiva (House of Nine) - is based at Leulumoega. This is also the same for the other districts. In the district of Tuamasaga, the paramount title of the district - The Malietoa title - is conferred by the FaleTuamasaga based in Afega.

Upolu (including minor islands)
1. Tuamasaga (Afega)
2. A'ana (Leulumoega)
3. Aiga-i-le-Tai (Mulifanua) (including islands Manono, Apolima and Nu'ulopa)
4. Atua (Lufilufi) (including the Aleipata Islands and Nu'usafe'e Island)
5. Va'a-o-Fonoti (Samamea)

6. Fa'asaleleaga (Safotulafai)
7. Gaga'emauga (Saleaula) (smaller parts also on Upolu (Salamumu (incl. Salamumu-Utu) and Leauvaa villages))
8. Gaga'ifomauga (Safotu)
9. Vaisigano (Asau)
10. Satupa'itea (Satupa'itea)
11. Palauli (Vailoa)

Last updated: 31 July 2010
Page created: 08 June 2010
Copyright Marianna 2006 - 2013 When copying materials from website active hyperlink is required