Marianna Ivanova
home icon contact us icon site map icon russian flag icon
  My world  
  My interests  
Эта страница на русском russianflag

Minister of health inTanzania David Mwakyusa

Prof David Homeli Mwakyusa is a Minister of Health & Social Welfare in Tanzania since 2006 is born 9 Nov 1942

Medical College of Georgia, USA Gastroenterology 1986 1987 CERTIFICATE
Cleveland Clinic, USA Certificate in Gastroenterology 1984 1984 CERTIFICATE
University of Glasgow - Scotland UK Certificate in Gastroenterology 1977 1978 CERTIFICATE
University of Dar es Salaam MMed 1973 1976 MASTERS DEGREE
University of Makerere M.B., Ch.B. Degree 1964 1969 MASTERS DEGREE
Tabora High School A-Level Education 1962 1963 HIGH SCHOOL
Tabora Boys Secondary School O-Level Education 1958 1961 SECONDARY
Mpuguso Middle School Middle School Education 1954 1957 PRIMARY
Masoko Primary School Primary Education 1951 1953 PRIMARY
Ministry of Health & Social Welfare Minister 2006
Muhimbili Medical Centre Director of Administration&Hospital Services 1992 2000
University of Dar es Salaam (Muhimbili College of Medicine) Professor of Medicine 1991 Todate
University of Dar es Salaam (Muhimbili College of Medicine) Head of Department - Clinics 1988 1992
University of Dar es Salaam (Muhimbili College of Medicine) Associate Professor of Medicine 1984 1991
University of Dar es Salaam (Muhimbili College of Medicine) Senior Lecturer in Medicine 1979 1984
University of Dar es Salaam (Muhimbili College of Medicine) Lecturer in Medicine 1976 1979
Shinyanga District District Medical Officer 1972 1973
Bugando Consultant Hospital Medical Registrar 1971 1972
Muhimbili Medical Centre Medical Registrar 1970 1971
Muhimbili Medical Centre Internship 1969 1970
Chama Cha Mapinduzi - CCM Member of Parliament 2000 Todate
Chama Cha Mapinduzi - CCM Member- Regional Council 2000 2005
Chama Cha Mapinduzi - CCM Member - National Committee 2000 2005
Chama Cha Mapinduzi - CCM Member 1977 Todate
TANU Member 1971 1977

David Mwakyusa minister of health in Tanzania

Appreciation Remarks By The Minister Of Health And Social Welfare, Hon. Professor David Mwakyusa, At The Ceremony Of Receiving Two Ambulance Vehicles From The US Government January 30, 2006

Reforms undertaken by the government in the health sector since 2006 have started to pay off as more medical personnel are now attracted to public sector, the minister for Health and Social Welfare, Prof David Mwakyusa has said. Speaking on Tuesday here, Prof Mwakyusa said at least 60 per cent of medical personnel were now employed by the government. 18/09/2009

24 August 2007 The Tanzanian Minister of Health and Social Welfare, Prof. David Mwakyusa, opened the first meeting of the national Cancer Control Steering Committee, which took place at Ocean Road Cancer Institute (Dar es Salaam) on 20 and 21 August. The 13 members of the Steering Committee have the responsibility to develop the national cancer control strategy, and to identify specific activities for the strategy's action plan. The Programme of Action for Cancer Therapy (PACT) facilitated the meeting through Ms Maria Stella de Sabata, PACT Cancer Control Specialist, and Dr K.A. Dinshaw, director of Tata Memorial Hospital (Mumbai, India). Outcomes and timelines for the next 6 months have been agreed upon by the Steering Committee, and 8 working groups on several areas of cancer control have been established:

* registration
* prevention
* early detection and diagnosis
* treatment
* palliative care
* training, education and research
* cancer society building
* human resources development

The Steering Committee was also represented at the joint INCTR-PACT-supported Focused Workshop on cancer control in East Africa, which followed on 22-24 August. Tanzania is one of PACT's six Model Demostration Sites (PMDS) projects.

map of Tanzania regions

Tanzania is divided into 26 regions (mkoa), twenty-one on the mainland and five in Zanzibar (three on Unguja, two on Pemba). Ninety-nine districts (wilaya), each with at least one council, have been created to further increase local authority; the councils are also known as local government authorities. Currently there are 114 councils operating in 99 districts; 22 are urban and 92 are rural. The 22 urban units are further classified as city councils (Dar es Salaam and Mwanza), municipal councils (Arusha, Dodoma, Iringa, Kilimanjaro, Mbeya, Morogoro, Shinyanga, Tabora, and Tanga) or town councils (the remaining eleven communities).

Tanzania's regions are:

  1. Arusha
  2. Dar es Salaam
  3. Dodoma
  4. Iringa
  5. Kagera
  6. Kigoma
  7. Kilimanjaro
  8. Lindi
  9. Manyara
  10. Mara
  11. Mbeya
  12. Morogoro
  13. Mtwara
  14. Mwanza
  15. Pemba North
  16. Pemba South
  17. Pwani
  18. Rukwa
  19. Ruvuma
  20. Shinyanga
  21. Singida
  22. Tabora
  23. Tanga ·
  24. Zanzibar Central/South
  25. Zanzibar North
  26. Zanzibar Urban/West
Last updated: 17 July 2010
Page created: 08 June 2010
  Система Orphus  
Copyright © Marianna 2006 - 2013 When copying materials from website active hyperlink is required