Marianna Ivanova
home icon contact us icon site map icon russian flag icon
  My world  
  My interests  

Minister of Public Health and Welfare in Paraguay Dr. Esperanza Martinez


Esperanza Martinez is an oil expert and founder of environmental action organsiation Oil Watch, based in Ecuador. Esperanza Martinez is the founder of the association Accin Ecolgica, member organisation of Friends of the Earth, in Ecuador, co-ordinator of the observation ward for eco-political development of the Amazon area, and co-founder of Oilwatch, an international network set up to defend delicate eco systems and the ancient rights of indigenous population against the ravages caused by extraction of petroleum.

Paraguay: GTZ employee becomes Minister of Health

Esperanza Martinez, a GTZ employee working in Paraguay, was appointed Minister of Health a few days ago by Fernando Lugo, the newly elected President of the Republic of Paraguay.

Martinez is a medical doctor and public health specialist. She has studied at universities in Paraguay, Brazil and Belgium and has worked for many years as a consultant to international agencies such as USAID and UNICEF. As part of the project Subregional South-South Cooperation HIV/AIDS, under the direction of Claudia Herlt, Martinez has been working for GTZ since 2007 to harmonise public programmes for sex education and AIDS prevention.

Esperanza Martinez will take up the reins of office along with the new government on 15 August 2008. Former bishop Fernando Lugo's election victory ended 60 years of rule in Paraguay by the Colorado party. "Now the actual process of transition can begin from authoritarian structures to democracy and rule of law," states Horst Steigler, GTZ Country Director in Asuncion.

4. July 2008

Esperanza Martinez Minister of Public Health and Welfare in Paraguay

01 Alto Paraguay Fuerte Olimpo
02 Alto Parana Ciudad del Este
03 Amambay Pedro Juan Caballero
04 Distrito Capital Asuncion
05 Boqueron Filadelfia
06 Caaguazu Coronel Oviedo
07 Caazapa Caazapa
08 Canindeyu Salto del Guaira
09 Central Aregua
10 Concepcion Concepcion
11 Cordillera Caacupe
12 Guaira Villarrica
13 Itapua Encarnacion
14 Misiones San Juan Bautista
15 Neembucu Pilar
16 Paraguari Paraguari
17 Presidente Hayes Villa Hayes
18 San Pedro San Pedro


Last update: 05 June 2010
Copyright Marianna 2006 - 2013 When copying materials from website active hyperlink is required