Marianna Ivanova
home icon contact us icon site map icon russian flag icon
  My world  
  My interests  
Эта страница на русском russianflag

Minister of health in North Korea, Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK) Kim Su Hak

Mr. Kim Hak-Su , a national of the Republic of Korea, was appointed by the United Nations Secretary-General Kofi Annan as Executive Secretary of the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP). Mr. Kim began his work at ESCAP on 1 July 2000.

Mr. Kim, a prominent economist, served as the Republic of Korea's Ambassador for International Economic Affairs. He has vast experience in central banking, development planning, government think-tanks and private sector management, as well as international organizations.

Mr. Kim began his professional career in 1960 as an economist with the Bank of Korea, Republic of Korea's central bank, served as Secretary to the Minister of Commerce and Industry in 1969 and worked for the London Representative Office of the Bank of Korea (1971-1973). He joined Daewoo Corporation in 1977 as Executive Director and served Daewoo International Corporation in New York as its President.

Mr. Kim joined the United Nations system in September 1981 and worked as Chief Planning Officer and Chief Technical Adviser under the United Nations Department for Technical Cooperation and Development during most of the 1980s, in island state countries, such as Vanuatu and the Solomon Islands. After serving the United Nations system for eight years, he joined the Korea Institute for International Economic Policy as a Senior Research Fellow, researching and publishing on issues regarding international economic cooperation during the period from 1989 to 1993.

He served as President of the Hanil Banking Institute before taking up the recent post of Secretary-General of the Colombo Plan, based in Colombo, Sri Lanka (1995-1999). He revitalized the 24-member country intergovernment Colombo Plan in Asia and the Pacific, stressing human resources development and focusing on South-South cooperation. He was appointed the Republic of Korea's Ambassador for International Economic Affairs in June 1999, attending various international meetings as the head of his Government's delegation.

Mr. Kim was born in Wonju, Republic of Korea, studied as an undergraduate at Yonsei University, earned a master's degree from Edinburgh University, United Kingdom, and a Ph.D. in economics from the University of South Carolina, United States.

Kim Su Hak - Minister of health in North Korea, Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK) 1998 - 2006

Kim Su-hak, fodd 1942, nordkoreansk politiker och landets folkhalsominister 1998 till 5 oktober 2006. Han sitter sedan april 1990 i Hogsta folkforamlingen och ar sedan 1998 ordforande for Kinesisk-koreanska vanskapsforbundet.

Choe Chang-sik - minister of health in North Korea DPRK since 2006

Choe Chang-sik, nordkoreansk politiker och landets folkhalsominister sedan 5 oktober 2006. Han tjanstgjorde som vice folkhalsominister 1998 till 2006 under Kim Su-hak. Choe Chang-sik ar aven ordforande for nordkoreanska lakarforbundet.

SEOUL, Oct 12 2006 Asia Pulse - North Korea named Choe Chang-sik as its health minister, replacing Kim Su-hak.

The appointment was confirmed in a report by the North's state-run Korean Central News Agency (KCNA) on a reception hosted on Oct. 4 by Bashir Ramadan Khalifa Abu Janah

Minister of health in North Korea, Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK) Kim Su Hak


map of North Korea (DPRK) regions

The administrative divisions of North Korea are organized into three hierarchical levels. Many of the units have equivalents in the system of South Korea. At the highest level are nine provinces, two directly-governed cities, and three special administrative divisions. The second-level divisions are cities, counties, wards, and districts. These are further subdivided into third-level entities: towns, neighborhoods, villages, and workers' districts.


* Chagang Province (Chagang-do)
* North Hamgyong Province (Hamgyong-pukto)
* South Hamgyong Province (Hamgyong-namdo)
* North Hwanghae Province (Hwanghae-pukto)
* South Hwanghae Province (Hwanghae-namdo)
* Kangwon Province (Kangwondo)
* North P'yongan Province (P'yongan-pukto)
* South P'yongan Province (P'yongan-namdo)
* Ryanggang Province (Ryanggang-do)

Last updated: 31 July 2010
Page created: 08 June 2010
  Система Orphus  
Copyright © Marianna 2006 - 2013 When copying materials from website active hyperlink is required