Marianna Ivanova
home icon contact us icon site map icon russian flag icon
  My world  
  My interests  

Minister of health in Norway Anne-Grete Hjelle Strom-Erichsen

Anne-Grete Hjelle Strom-Erichsen (born 21 October 1949 in Bergen ) is a Norwegian politician for the Labour Party .

The Minister of Health and Care Services is responsible for the following policy areas: the hospital sector, health services in the municipalities, public health promotion, mental health and alcohol/drug abuse.

Anne-Grete Strom-Erichsen was born in Bergen in 1949. She was educated as computer engineer. She has twenty years private and public sector experience in computers and information technology in the fields of system development and management. She was Commissioner, City of Bergen, from 2003 until she was appointed minister of defence.

Political positions:



1991 - 2005

Member of Bergen City Council

1991 - 2000

Member of the Executive Board, Bergen City Council


Deputy Leader of the Labour Party in Bergen

1995 - 1998

Councillor and Chairman of the Principal Committee on Schools, City of Bergen

1997 - 1999

Leader of Hordaland Labour Party

1998 - 1999

Deputy Mayor, City of Bergen

1998 - 1999

Chairman of the Committee on Leisure and Culture, City of Bergen

1998 - 2000

Chairman of the Board of Directors, Bergen City of Culture 2000

1999 - 2001

President of the Organization of World Heritage Cities (OWHC)

1999 - June 2000

Mayor, City of Bergen

June 2000 - October 2003

Chief Commissioner of the City of Bergen following introduction of the parliamentary system of city government

2001 -

Member of Labour Party Central Council

October 2003 - 2005

Councillor and Chairman of the Standing Committee on Environmental Affairs and Urban Development for the City of Bergen

October 2005 - October 2009 Ministrer of Defence

She was elected to the Norwegian Parliament from Hordaland in 2005. However, in October 2005 she was appointed Minister of Defence in the Red-Green Coalition government headed by Jens Stoltenberg . Her seat in parliament was taken by Dag Ole Teigen . After the 2009 Norwegian parliamentary election, she was appointed Minister of Health and Care Services , where she is currently incumbent.

Previously, she was mayor of Bergen from 1999 to 2000 and chaired its city council from 2000 to 2003. Being mayor, she was the president of the Organization of World Heritage Cities from 1999 to 2001. She also chaired the county party chapter from 1997 to 1999, and was a member of the Labour Party central committee from 2002 to 2007.

Outside of politics, she was educated in EDB engineering at Bergen University College in 1974. She then worked with the EDB systems at the University of Bergen until 1984. She was later senior consultant in Siemens Nixdorf from 1988 to 1991 and BDC AS from 1991 to 1995.

Minister of health in Norway Anne-Grete Hjelle Strom-Erichsen

Norwegian Ministry of Health and Care Services

The Royal Norwegian Ministry of Health and Care Services ( Helse- og omsorgsdepartementet ) is a Norwegian government ministry in charge of health policy, public health , health care services and health legislation in Norway.

More specifically the Ministry of Health and Care Services has the superior responsibility for providing the population with adequate health care services, including health promotion, based upon the principle of equality and health care services independent of habitation and financial circumstances.

The Minister of Health and Care Services is the head of the Ministry, and its political leader. The position is currently being held by Anne-Grete Strom-Erichsen . The Norwegian Board of Health is a national government institution under the Ministry of Health and Care Services.


The ministry owns the four regional health authorities in Norway:

It also is supreme of the following government agencies :

map of Norway regions

Norway, a unitary state , is effectively divided into five regions , although this is for strategic geographical purposes only. The regions do not have their own administrative form of local government, nor a directly elected assembly. The regions are further divided into nineteen first-level administrative counties ( fylker ). The counties are administrated through directly elected county assemblies who elect the County Governor. Additionally, the King and government are represented in every county by a fylkesmann , who effectively acts as a Governor. As such, the Government is directly represented at a local level through the County Governors' offices. The counties are then sub-divided into 430 second-level municipalities (kommuner), which in turn are administrated by directly elected municipal council, headed by a mayor and a small executive cabinet. The capital of Oslo is considered both a county and a municipality. Norway also has two integral overseas territories, Jan Mayen and Svalbard . There are three Antarctic and Subantarctic dependencies : Bouvet Island , Peter I Island and Queen Maud Land.

In addition, there are 96 settlements with city status in Norway. In most cases, the city borders are coterminous with the borders of their respective municipalities. Often, Norwegian city municipalities include large non-built up areas; for example, Oslo municipality contains large forests, located north and southeast of the city, and over half of Bergen municipality consists of mountainous areas.

ISO-code County (fylke) Administrative centre
01 Ostfold Sarpsborg
02 Akershus Oslo
03 Oslo City of Oslo
04 Hedmark Hamar
05 Oppland Lillehammer
06 Buskerud Drammen
07 Vestfold Tonsberg
08 Telemark Skien
09 Aust-Agder Arendal
10 Vest-Agder Kristiansand
11 Rogaland Stavanger
12 Hordaland Bergen
13 Sogn og Fjordane Leikanger
14 More og Romsdal Molde
15 Sor-Trondelag Trondheim
16 Nord-Trondelag Steinkjer
17 Nordland Bodo
18 Troms Tromso
19 Finnmark Vadso

Last updated: 30 June 2010
Copyright Marianna 2006 - 2013 When copying materials from website active hyperlink is required