Marianna Ivanova
home icon contact us icon site map icon russian flag icon
  My world  
  My interests  

Minister of health in Nigeria HE Professor Babatunde Osotimehin


Babatunde Osotimehin (born February 1949) became Nigeria's Minister of Health on 17 December 2008. He left office in March 2010 when Acting President Goodluck Jonathan dissolved his cabinet.

Babatunde Osotimehin was born on February 1949 in Ogun State, a kinsman of Chief Tunji Ishola. He became a professor of clinical pathology, and the Coordinator of the National Agency for the Control of Aids (NACA). He was successful as project head of the World Bank's $90.3 million HIV/AIDs prevention project.

Babatunde Osotimehin completed his medical studies at the University of Ibadan and the University of Birmingham, United Kingdom, specializing in Clinical Pathology. Appointments before being assigned to NACA included Visiting Fellow at the Harvard Center for Population and Development Studies, Coordinator of The Social Sciences and Reproductive Health Research Network, Ibadan, Editor of the African Journal of Medicine and Medical Sciences, Provost College of Medicine of the University of Ibadan, and Project Manager of Nigeria's HIV/AIDS Programme Development Project.

In a 2005 article in the New York Times, he noted that nearly 58 percent of Nigerians with H.I.V. are female. Many girls in Nigeria are married off before they are physically or psychologically ready, when they are as young as 13 or 14. It is not acceptable for them to ask their partners to use a condom or to refrain from sex. Later that year, he said that the government had ordered an increase to 250,000 of the number of HIV-positive people on Nigeria's antiretroviral treatment program.

HE Professor Babatunde Osotimehin

Adenike Grange - former health minister of Nigeria

Eyitayo Lambo - former health minister of Nigeria



States of Nigeria:

1. Abuja
2. Anambra
3. Enugu
4. Akwa Ibom
5. Adamawa
6. Abia
7. Bauchi
8. Bayelsa
9. Benue
10. Borno
11. Cross River
12. Delta
13. Ebonyi
14. Edo
15. Ekiti
16. Gombe
17. Imo
18. Jigawa
19. Kaduna
20. Kano
21. Katsina
22. Kebbi
23. Kogi
24. Kwara
25. Lagos
26. Nasarawa
27. Niger
28. Ogun
29. Ondo
30. Osun
31. Oyo
32. Plateau
33. Rivers
34. Sokoto
35. Taraba
36. Yobe
37. Zamfara


Last update: 06 June 2010
  Система Orphus  
Copyright © Marianna 2006 - 2013 When copying materials from website active hyperlink is required