Marianna Ivanova
home icon contact us icon site map icon russian flag icon
  My world  
  My interests  

Minister of health in Ireland Mary Harney


Home Address : Clonskeagh, Dublin 6.

Business Address : Department of Health and Children, Hawkins House, Dublin 2

Birth Place : Ballinasloe, Co. Galway, March 1953

Married : Brian Geoghegan

Education : Convent of Mercy, Goldenbridge, Inchicore, Dublin; Colaiste Bhride, Clondalkin, Dublin 22, Trinity College Dublin (BA [Mod])

Occupation : Public Representative

Mary Harney was appointed as Minister for Health and Children in September 2004, and reappointed following the 2007 General Election. Previously, she was Tanaiste and Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment from 1997 to 2002 and was re-appointed in June 2002, making history as the first woman to hold the title of Tanaiste and also to serve a second successive term. She served as leader of the Progressive Democrats Party from 1993 to 2006.

She was Tanaiste and Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment from 1997 to 2002. She was Minister of State at the Department of Environment with special responsibility for Environmental Protection 1989-1992. She was first elected to the Dail in 1981 as a Fianna Fail candidate.

Mary Harney was a founder member of the Progressive Democrats with Desmond O'Malley in 1985. In entering political life as a Senate nominee of then Taoiseach, Jack Lynch in August 1977, she became the youngest ever member of the Seanad. She had been a candidate in the 1977 general election in Dublin South-East, and was eventually elected to the Dail in 1981. She was a member of Dublin County Council (1979-1991) and Vice Chairperson of County Dublin Vocational Educational Committee (1985).

Email: Minister'

If you wish to make an FOI request, you can find more information here .

Mary Harney

Listed below are all people who have held the position of Minister for Health or Minister for Health and Children since the establishment of the Department of Health in 1947.

Dr. James Ryan T.D. January, 1947 - February, 1948
Dr. Noel Browne T.D. February, 1948 - April, 1951
Mr. John A. Costello T.D. April, 1951 - June, 1951
Dr. James Ryan T.D. June, 1951 - June, 1954
Mr. Thomas F. O'Higgins T.D. June, 1954 - March, 1957
Mr. Sean MacEntee T.D. March, 1957 - April, 1965
Mr. Donagh O'Malley T.D. April, 1965 - July, 1966
Mr. Sean Flanagan T.D. July, 1966 - July, 1969
Mr. Erskine Childers T.D. July, 1969 - March, 1973
Mr. Brendan Corish T.D. March, 1973 - July, 1977
Mr. Charles J. Haughey T.D. July, 1977 - December, 1979
Dr. Michael Woods T.D. December, 1979 - July, 1981
Mrs. Eileen Desmond T.D. July, 1981 - March, 1982
Dr. Michael Woods T.D. March, 1982 - December, 1982
Mr. Barry Desmond T.D. December, 1982 - January, 1987
Mr John Boland T. D. January, 1987 - March, 1987
Dr. Rory O'Hanlon T.D. March, 1987 - November, 1991
Mrs. Mary O'Rourke T.D. November, 1991 - February, 1992
Dr. John O'Connell T.D. February, 1992 - January, 1993
Mr. Brendan Howlin T.D. January, 1993 - November, 1994
Dr. Michael Woods T.D. November, 1994 - December, 1994
Mr. Michael Noonan T.D. December, 1994 - June, 1997
Mr. Brian Cowen T.D. June 1997 - January 2000
Mr. Micheal Martin T.D. January 2000 - September 2004
Ms. Mary Harney T.D. September 2004 - present


map of Ireland

Traditionally, Ireland is subdivided into four provinces : Connacht (west), Leinster (east), Munster (south), and Ulster (north). In a system that developed between the 13th and 17th centuries, Ireland has thirty-two traditional counties . Twenty-six of the counties are in the Republic of Ireland and six counties are in Northern Ireland. The six counties that constitute Northern Ireland are all in the province of Ulster (which has nine counties in total). As such, Ulster is often used as a synonym for Northern Ireland, although the two are not coterminous.

In the Republic of Ireland, counties form the basis of the system of local government. Counties Dublin, Cork, Limerick, Galway, Waterford and Tipperary have been broken up into smaller administrative areas. However, they are still treated as counties for cultural and some official purposes, for example post and by the Ordnance Survey Ireland. Counties in Northern Ireland are no longer used for local governmental purposes, but, as in the Republic, their traditional boundaries are still used for informal purposes such as sports leagues and in cultural or tourism contexts as well as in addresses.

City status in Ireland is decided by legislative or royal charter . Dublin , with just over 1 million residents in the Greater Dublin Area, is the largest city on the island. Other cities are:

Kilkenny (pop. 22,179), while strictly no longer a city, is entitled by law to describe itself as such. Several towns have larger populations than some of these cities but are not recognised as cities because they lack historic charters or legal status.

Area (sq. km)
Density (p/
Largest city
Connacht 503,083 17,713 28 Galway
Leinster 2,292,939 19,801 100 Dublin
Munster 1,172,170 24,608 48 Cork
Ulster 2,008,333 22,300 90 Belfast


Last updated: 12 June 2010
  Система Orphus  
Copyright © Marianna 2006 - 2013 When copying materials from website active hyperlink is required