Marianna Ivanova
home icon contact us icon site map icon russian flag icon
  My world  
  My interests  

Minister of health in Guyana Leslie Ramsammy

Hon. Dr. Leslie Ramsammy MP
Minister of Health

In Brief:
Minister of Health since 2001
Ph.D., Biochemistry, St. John's University, N.Y.
M.Sc., Biology, St. John's University, N.Y.
B.Sc., Microbiology, Pace University, N.Y.

Minister Ramsammy has been a Post Doctoral Fellow (Neurochemistry) at the New York Institute of Developmental Disabilities and is a Senior Fellow, WINDRIF, St. Georges School of Medicine. He has more than 70 scientific publications and is the author of 'HIV/AIDS A Public Health Challenge'.

Tel: 592 226 1560

Leslie Ramsammy minister of health in Guyana

Hon. Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran MD
Minister in the Ministry of Health

Dr. Bheri Sygmond Ramsaran was born on March 16, 1959. He graduated from the Medical Faculty of the People's Friendship University, Moscow, in 1987 and then proceeded on further post graduate training at the same University focusing on surgical skills.

Dr. Ramsaran began working at the Georgetown Public Hospital in 1987 as a Government Medical Officer and a year later was posted at New Amsterdam Hospital. He also served at the Skeldon and Port Mourant hospitals. He continued working in Berbice as a medical practitioner until mid 1996when he returned to the Department of Surgery at the Georgetown Hospital where he attained the level of Medical Registrar. He also worked for several years at the hospital's Accident & Emergency Department.

He was elected to the Central Committee of the PPP and the Executive Committee and has served as the Party's Secretary for Education while a members of the Executive Committee.

He became a member of the National Assembly in 1998. He also functioned as a member of the Public Accounts Committee and Sectoral Committee on the Social Sector.

Dr. Ramsaran was appointed Director of the Regional Health Services of the Ministry of Health in 2003.

Tel: 592 227 1316

map of Guyana regions

Guyana is divided into 10 regions. The regions are divided into 27 neighbourhood councils

Population per
1 Barima-Waini 20,339 24,275 1.2
2 Pomeroon-Supenaam 6,195 49,253 8.0
3 Essequibo Islands-West Demerara 2,232 103,061 46.2
4 Demerara-Mahaica 1,843 310,320 168.4
5 Mahaica-Berbice 3,755 52,428 14.0
6 East Berbice-Corentyne 36,234 123,695 3.4
7 Cuyuni-Mazaruni 47,213 17,597 0.3
8 Potaro-Siparuni 20,051 10,095 0.5
9 Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo 57,750 19,387 1.3
10 Upper Demerara-Berbice 19,387 41,112 2.1
Guyana 214,999 751,223 3.49

Last update: 12 July 2010
Copyright Marianna 2006 - 2013 When copying materials from website active hyperlink is required