Marianna Ivanova
home icon contact us icon site map icon russian flag icon
  My world  
  My interests  
Эта страница на русском russianflag

Minister of health in Greenland Agathe Fontain

The new government promises a system change.

The make up of the new coalition government in Greenland, headed by Prime Minister Kuupik Kleist, was announced on Wednesday 10 June. It is the first Greenlandic government ever without participation from the Socialdemocratic Siumut party.

The Greenland newspaper Sermitsiaq reports that 43.7% of the electorate voted for the left-wing party Inuit Ataqatigiit (IA), the big winner of the general election on 2 June. The result ends a period of 30 years with the Socialdemocratic Siumut party in the Prime Minister position.

Elections are held to the devolved parliament at least once every four years. The 31 members of the new parliament represent five political parties. Although officially part of Denmark, the devolved government has extensive powers and is run by a Prime Minister and a Cabinet.

The new government:

  • Prime Minister: Kuupik Kleist, Inuit Ataqatigiit (also responsible for foreign affairs).
  • Minister of Fishing, Hunting and Agriculture: Ane Hansen, Inuit Ataqatigiit.
  • Minister of Finance: Palle Christiansen, Democrat.
  • Minister of Food and Raw Materials: Ove Karl Berthelsen, Inuit Ataqatigiit.
  • Minister of Housing, Infrastructure and Traffic: Jens B. Frederiksen, Democrat (also Deputy Prime Minister)
  • Minister of Culture, Education, Research and the Church: Mimi Karlsen, Inuit Ataqatigiit.
  • Minister of Health: Agathe Fontain, Inuit Ataqatigiit.
  • Minister for the Family: Maliina Abelsen, Inuit Ataqatigiit.
  • Minister of Internal Affairs: Anthon Frederiksen, KP.
Agathe Fontain minister of health in Greenland

Areas of responsibility:

Health service

  • The Queen Ingrid Hospital (DIH)
  • Other hospitals
  • Settlement consultations
  • Dental care
  • Health research
  • Alcohol treatment centre
  • Peqqissaanermik Ilinniarfik
  • Gronl?nderhjemmet (accommodation in Denmark for patients from Greenland)

Ministry of Health
P.O. Box 1160
3900 Nuuk

Phone: (+299) 34 50 00(+299) 34 50 00
Fax: (+299) 32 55 05

map of Greenland regions

Greenland is divided into four municipalities: Kujalleq, Qaasuitsup, Qeqqata, and Sermersooq. The large Northeast Greenland National Park is not part of any municipality (unincorporated). The Thule Air Base (Pituffik), located as an enclave within Qaasuitsup municipality, is also an unincorporated area and does not belong to any municipality.

  1. Qaasuitsup. (Kalaallisut: Qaasuitsup Kommunia) is a new municipality in northwestern Greenland, operational from 1 January 2009. The administrative center of the municipality is in Ilulissat.
  2. Qeqqata (Kalaallisut: Qeqqata Kommunia) is a new municipality in western Greenland, operational from 1 January 2009. Its administrative center is in Sisimiut.
  3. Sermersooq. (Kalaallisut: Kommuneqarfik Sermersooq) is a new municipality in southwestern Greenland, operational from 1 January 2009. Its administrative center is in Nuuk, the capital.
  4. Kujalleq (Kalaallisut: Kommuneqarfik Kujalleq) is a new municipality in southern Greenland, operational from 1 January 2009. Its administrative center is in Qaqortoq.
Last updated: 18 July 2010
Page created: 08 June 2010
  Система Orphus  
Copyright © Marianna 2006 - 2013 When copying materials from website active hyperlink is required