Marianna Ivanova
home icon contact us icon site map icon russian flag icon
  My world  
  My interests  

Minister of health in Denmark Jakob Axel Nielsen

Jakob Axel Nielsen (born 12 April 1967) is a Danish lawyer and politician representing the Conservative People's Party. He has been a member of the Folketing (Parliament of Denmark) since the 2005 election and was Minister of Traffic and of Energy in the Cabinet of Anders Fogh Rasmussen II from 12 September 2007 to 23 November 2007, and Minister for Health and Prevention from 23 November 2007 to 23 February 2010 in the Cabinet of Anders Fogh Rasmussen III and in the Cabinet of Lars Lokke Rasmussen. Before he was appointed minister, he was his party's spokesman on tax policy. Nielsen was born in Terndrup and grew up in the region of Himmerland. His father and grandfather were also lawyers whilst his mother was a teacher. He graduated from the Gymnasium (secondary school) in Hobro and was educated in law at the University of Aarhus; he worked as a lawyer from 1994 until 2005 when he was elected to the Folketing. His grandfather, Knud Axel Nielsen, also a lawyer, was a member of the Folketing for the Social Democratic party 1953-1973 and served as Justice Minister 1964-1968 and 1971-1973.
Jakob Axel Nielsen minister of health Denmark

List of Danish health ministers

Kjeld Kjeldsen

Kjeld Kjeldsen

Ministry of the Interior and Health, Denmark 2004

  • 1972 Scientific work - statistics and epidemiology, National Institute of Public Health,
  • 1972-1975 Head of department, National Board of Health,
  • 1975-1980 Head of Planning, Copenhagen County Hospital Service,
  • 1981-1987 Director of the Health Services, Ringkobing County,
  • 1987-1999 Deputy Permanent Secretary, Ministry of the Interior and Health,
  • 1999-2004 Deputy Director General, National Board of Health

map of Denmark regions

Denmark is divided into five regions (Danish: regioner, singular: region) and a total of 98 municipalities. The regions were created on 1 January 2007 as part of the 2007 Danish Municipal Reform to replace the country's traditional thirteen counties (amter). At the same time, smaller municipalities (kommuner) were merged into larger units, cutting the number of municipalities from 270 to 98. The most important area of responsibility for the new regions is the national health service. Unlike the former counties, the regions are not allowed to levy taxes, and the health service is primarily financed by a national 8% (sundhedsbidrag) tax combined with funds from both government and municipalities. Each Regional Council consists of 41 elected politicians elected as part of the 2005 Danish municipal elections. Most of the new municipalities have a population of at least 20,000 people, although a few exceptions were made to this rule. The Ertholmene archipelago (96 inhabitants (2008)) is neither part of a municipality nor a region but belongs to the Ministry of Defence.[58] Greenland and the Faroe Islands have autonomous status and are largely self-governing; each are represented by two seats in the parliament.

Last update: 13 June 2010
  Система Orphus  
Copyright © Marianna 2006 - 2013 When copying materials from website active hyperlink is required