Marianna Ivanova
home icon contact us icon site map icon russian flag icon
  My world  
  My interests  
Эта страница на русском russianflag

Minister of health in Cook Islands Apii Piho

Tereapii (Apii) Piho (born 25 August 1960) is a Cook Islands politician and Cabinet Minister. He represents the seat of Manihiki in the Cook Islands Parliament. Piho was born on Rakahanga and educated in New Zealand.He was first elected to Parliament as a member of the Cook Islands Democratic Party at the 2006 election, defeating Cook Islands Party leader Henry Puna. In December 2009 he was appointed to Cabinet following the sacking of Terepai Maoate and resignation of Democratic party cabinet ministers.[3] He currently holds the portfolios of Justice, Health, Internal Affairs, Youth & Sports, and NGOs.[4] As a result, he was expelled from the Democratic Party on 8 April 2010.

Apii Piho minister of health in Cook Islands


map of Cook Islands

The Cook Islands are in the South Pacific Ocean, north-east of New Zealand, between French Polynesia and American Samoa. There are fifteen major islands, spread over 2.2 million square kilometres of ocean, divided into two distinct groups: the Southern Cook Islands, and the Northern Cook Islands of coral atolls.

The islands were formed by volcanic activity; the northern group is older and consists of six atolls (sunken volcanoes topped by coral growth). The climate is moderate to tropical.

The 15 islands and two reefs are grouped as follows:

* Southern Cook Islands:
o Nga-pu-Toru ("Three Roots", the group name for the easternmost islands of Southern Group)
+ Atiu (Enua Manu or Island of Birds)
+ Ma'uke (Akatokamanava)
+ Mitiaro (Nukuroa)
o Remaining islands of the South:
+ Aitutaki (Araura Enua)
+ Mangaia (Auau Enua)
+ Rarotonga (Tumutevarovaro) and also with the capital, Avarua.
+ Palmerston Island (Pamati) sometimes grouped with the Northern Group.
+ Manuae
+ Takutea
+ Winslow Reef (submerged)
* Northern Cook Islands:
o Manihiki (Te Fuinga o Niva)
o Nassau (Te Nuku o Ngalewu )
o Penrhyn Island (Tongareva or Mangarongaro)
o Pukapuka (Te Ulu o te Watu)
o Rakahanga (Tapuahua)
o Suwarrow also called Suvorov
o Tema Reef (submerged)

There are island councils on all of the inhabited outer islands (Outer Islands Local Government Act 1987, with amendments up to 2004 and Palmerston Island Local Government Act 1993) except Nassau, which is governed by Pukapuka (Suwarrow, with only one caretaker living on the island, also governed by Pukapuka, is not counted with the inhabited islands in this context). Each council is headed by a mayor.

The ten Outer Islands councils are

Aitutaki (including uninhabited Manuae)
Atiu (including uninhabited Takutea)
Pukapuka (including Nassau and Suwarrow)

The three vaka councils of main island Rarotonga established in 1997 (Rarotonga Local Government Act 1997), that were also headed by mayors, were abolished in February 2008, despite much controversy

The three Vaka councils on the main island Rarotonga were

Te au o tonga (equivalent to Avarua, the national capital of the Cook Islands)

On the lowest level, there are village committees. Nassau, which is governed by Pukapuka, has an island committee (Nassau Island Committee), which advises the Pukapuka Island Council on matters concerning its own island.

Last updated: 18 July 2010
Page created: 08 June 2010
  Система Orphus  
Copyright © Marianna 2006 - 2013 When copying materials from website active hyperlink is required